Support Home > Social > Gravatar Hovercards

Gravatar Hovercards

A Gravatar is your profile on the web, and the Hovercard is one way your information is made visible to others. It’s an easy way to help people find your blog, or access your identity on other services like Twitter, Facebook, or Linkedin.

This module can be enabled by switching on Enable pop-up business cards over commenters’ Gravatars at  Jetpack → Settings → Discussion in your site’s Dashboard.

Hovercards appear when you place your mouse over any Gravatar. Here’s an example of what it looks like:

gravatar-hovercard

Turning off Hovercards

You can turn off Hovercards with these steps:

  1. Go to Settings -> Discussion
  2. Scroll down to the Comments section
  3. You’ll see a toggle next to “Enable pop-up business cards over commenters’ Gravatars.” – disabling this this will disable hovercards on your blog.

Privacy Information

This feature is de-activated by default. It can be activated any time by toggling the Enable pop-up business cards over commenters’ Gravatars setting in the Comments section from Jetpack — Settings — Discussion in your dashboard.

Data Used
Site Owners / Users

This feature will send a hash of the user’s email address (if logged in to the site or WordPress.com — or if they submitted a comment on the site using their email address that is attached to a Gravatar profile) to the Gravatar service in order to retrieve their profile image.

Additionally, for activity tracking (detailed below): IP address, WordPress.com user ID, WordPress.com username, WordPress.com-connected site ID and URL, Jetpack version, user agent, visiting URL, referring URL, timestamp of event, browser language, country code.

Site Visitors

This feature will send a hash of the user’s email address (if logged in to the site or WordPress.com — or if they submitted a comment on the site using their email address that is attached to a Gravatar profile) to the Gravatar service in order to retrieve their profile image.

Activity Tracked
Site Owners / Users

We track when, and by which user, the feature is activated and deactivated.

Site Visitors

None.

Data Synced (Read More)
Site Owners / Users

We sync a single option that identifies whether or not the feature is activated.

Site Visitors

None.

  • Table Of Contents

  • Categories

  • Contact Us

    Need more help? Feel free to contact us.