Support Home > Errors > What does resetting the connection mean?

What does resetting the connection mean?

If you’re asked to create a new connection, this will reset your followers and linked services. What does resetting the connection mean?

Jetpack stores a unique ID for your site in your site’s database, along with the token used to communicate securely with WordPress.com’s server. If an existing site that is connected to WordPress.com was used to clone a wholly new site, WordPress.com’s servers will see both sites as the same site.

Resetting the connection will disassociate this site from that other site’s unique ID, allowing you to reconnect with a brand new ID that is unique to this particular site. This will allow many of our features—Stats, Single Sign-On, Comments, Jetpack Social, and more—to correctly see both sites as separate sites.

  • Categories

  • Contact Us

    Need more help? Feel free to contact us.