Support Home > How to disconnect Jetpack from your site

How to disconnect Jetpack from your site

If you no longer want to use Jetpack on your site, follow these steps to disconnect Jetpack from your WordPress.com account.

Disconnect via WP Admin

Use this method if your site is still online, and you can log in to WP Admin.

  1. Log in to your site’s WP Admin.
  2. Go to Jetpack → My Jetpack.
  3. Scroll down to the Connection section.
  4. Click on the connection status link to manage. The link will say Site and account connected or Site Connected. Clicking the status will bring up a modal with the heading Manage your Jetpack connection.
  5. Follow the prompts and confirm by clicking Disconnect.

Once disconnected, your site will be removed from your WordPress.com account and will no longer appear under My Sites.

Any site administrator can disconnect Jetpack from WP Admin, including administrators whose own WordPress.com account is not connected. Non-administrator users cannot access the disconnect option unless they have a connected WordPress.com account.

Disconnect via the WordPress.com Sites Dashboard

Even if your site has been deleted or is no longer accessible, the Jetpack connection remains active until it’s manually disconnected. Until that happens, you may continue to receive notifications like downtime monitoring alerts.

If you’re unable to access your site’s WP Admin, you can disconnect from WordPress.com directly:

  1. Go to https://wordpress.com/sites
  2. Click the three-dot menu on the site
  3. Select Disconnect site
  4. Type in the domain to confirm
  5. Click Disconnect site

Deactivate Jetpack when you cannot log in

If you do not have access to your WP Admin due to a fatal error pointing to Jetpack files, here is how to get access to your site:

  1. Connect to your server using FTP access or your web host’s file manager.
  2. Navigate to the /public_html/wp-content/plugins/ directory.
  3. Delete the /jetpack/ folder.

If you’re unsure how to use FTP or a file manager, contact your hosting provider. They can guide you through the process or remove the Jetpack folder for you.

Once you’re able to log in again:

  • Update all your plugins, theme, and WordPress core to their latest versions.
  • Make sure your PHP version is up to date (your host can assist with this).

Important: deleting the Jetpack folder does not disconnect your site from WordPress.com. If you reinstall Jetpack, your site will automatically reconnect.

Disconnecting doesn’t cancel your subscription

Please note that even after disconnecting Jetpack or deleting your site, your subscription is not automatically cancelled. That’s because Jetpack subscriptions are tied to your WordPress.com account, not to a specific site. Your WordPress.com account acts as a central hub for managing all your purchases, including subscriptions that you can transfer to another site if needed.

To avoid being charged again, you’ll need to manually cancel your subscription. You can do this from your Purchases page at https://wordpress.com/me/purchases.

If you no longer have access to your WordPress.com account, please contact support.

Learn more about managing your subscription here: Manage your Jetpack billing and payments.

Still need help?

Please contact support. We’re happy to advise.

  • Table Of Contents

  • Contact Us

    Need more help? Feel free to contact us.