Reconnect and reinstall Jetpack
Última actualización:
Sometimes the simplest solution is the one that works, and “turn it off and on again” is no exception. Disconnecting and reconnecting Jetpack will often fix connection problems and help with errors encountered while activating settings. It’s generally the best place to start!
Disconnect Jetpack
Administrators disconnect Jetpack from the Jetpack Connection card in Settings → Connectors. The Connectors screen needs WordPress 7.0 or later. Users who aren’t administrators disconnect their own account from My Jetpack.
If you need further guidance or help with screenshots, please see this detailed documentation about disconnecting Jetpack.
Disconnect using the Jetpack Connection card
To disconnect your site from WordPress.com, follow these steps:
- Go to Settings → Connectors in WP Admin.
- Click the Details button on the Jetpack Connection card.
- Click the “Disconnect site” button at the bottom of the card. The dialog lists the plugins that use the connection and will stop working.
- Click Disconnect to confirm.
To disconnect only your own WordPress.com account and keep the site connected, click the “Disconnect account” link on your account row instead. If you own the connection, Jetpack asks you to confirm and offers to transfer ownership to another administrator first. For the transfer steps, see Transfer your Jetpack connection or plan to another user.
Disconnect using My Jetpack
If you aren’t an administrator, you can disconnect from My Jetpack as long as you have a contributor role or higher and a connected WordPress.com account. To do this:
- Go to Jetpack → My Jetpack.
- Click the connection control in the page header, then click the “Manage connection” link.
- In the Manage your Jetpack connection dialog, click “Disconnect my user account” to disconnect only your account, or “Disconnect Jetpack” to disconnect the site for every user.
- Follow the rest of the prompts until the disconnection is confirmed complete.
Reconnect Jetpack
Administrators reconnect Jetpack from the Jetpack Connection card in Settings → Connectors. The Connectors screen needs WordPress 7.0 or later. Users who aren’t administrators reconnect their own account from My Jetpack.
Reconnect using the Jetpack Connection card
To reconnect your site to WordPress.com, follow these steps:
- Go to Settings → Connectors in WP Admin.
- On the Jetpack Connection card, click the Connect button.
- Check that you’re connecting to the correct WordPress.com account and click Approve.
If the card shows the Site registered badge, the site is registered with WordPress.com but no account owns the connection. Click the Details button, then click the “Connect account” button. When the connection owner’s account needs to be reconnected, the button reads “Reconnect account“.
Reconnect using My Jetpack
If you aren’t an administrator, you can connect or reconnect your own account from My Jetpack as long as you have a contributor role or higher (WordPress roles explained). To do this:
- Go to Jetpack → My Jetpack.
- Click the connection control in the page header, then click the “Connect my account” link.
- Follow the on-screen steps to connect your WordPress.com account.
Some things to keep note of are:
- A site administrator must connect Jetpack to WordPress.com first before non-admins are allowed to connect to their own WordPress.com account.
- Connections from non-admins have some limitations compared to the primary admin connection (learn more about license activation and how roles affect it).
Reinstall Jetpack
In some cases, a simple reconnection may not be enough. The next step is to completely delete Jetpack and install a fresh copy, then reconnect.
- If Jetpack is still connected, disconnect it following the instructions above.
- In WP Admin, go to Plugins → Installed Plugins, scroll to find “Jetpack” and click Deactivate.

- When the page has refreshed, find Jetpack again and click Delete.
- To reinstall, go to Plugins → Add New, search for “Jetpack” and click Install Now for “Jetpack – WP Security, Backup, Speed, & Growth”.
- After the plugin is installed, click Activate.
- After activation, you can reconnect Jetpack, following the instructions above.
Stats, followers, and settings retention when disconnecting or deleting Jetpack
When you disconnect Jetpack, no data are lost (including stats and followers). Your settings will be restored when you reconnect.
Stats cannot be collected while Jetpack is disconnected, so if your site stays disconnected for some time, you may see a gap in your stats after you reconnect.
When you delete Jetpack, no data are lost (including stats and followers). But your settings will be reset, so you’ll need to set them again after reinstalling and reconnecting.
Deactivating Jetpack via FTP
If Jetpack causes a critical error on your site that results in loss of access your WP Admin, there are ways to deactivate it without needing to log into the site’s WP Admin. Please see this documentation for how to disable Jetpack by using a FTP client to access your site’s files on your host server.
Still need help?
Please contact support. We’re happy to advise.