Add a Like Button to your Posts or Pages

Enhance your readers’ experience by allowing them to show appreciation for your posts and pages via a Like button.

Requirements

  • The Like button is added to a post, page, or template via the Like block.
  • The Like block can be used on any site, but it is especially useful if use in a template on a block theme.
  • By adding the Like block to one or more of your theme templates, the Like button can appear on multiple pages of your site. For instance, you could add the block to the bottom of your Single Posts template, ensuring the Like button appears at the bottom of all your posts.

Add the Like block

Follow these steps to add the Like block:

  1. Open the page, post, or template editor where you want to add the Like block.
  2. Click the “+” button to add a new block.
  3. Search for “Like” in the block selector.
  4. Position the Like block where you want it to appear on your page or post.
  5. Save or publish your changes.

Check Jetpack Blocks for detailed instructions on adding blocks.

Still need help?

Please contact support. We’re happy to advise.

Privacy Information

The Like block is activated by default. It cannot be deactivated, and is always available to select from the Block Selector.

Data Used
Site Owners / Users

IP address, WordPress.com user ID, WordPress.com username, WordPress.com-connected site ID (on which the post was liked), post ID (of the post that was liked), user agent, timestamp of event, browser language, country code.

Site Visitors

IP address, WordPress.com user ID, WordPress.com username, WordPress.com-connected site ID (on which the post was liked), post ID (of the post that was liked), user agent, timestamp of event, browser language, country code.

Activity Tracked
Site Owners / Users

We track when, and which user, likes (or receives a like on) a specific post.

Site Visitors

We track when, and which user, likes a specific post.

Data Synced (Read More)
Site Owners / Users

We sync options that identify whether or not the feature is activated and how its available settings are configured.

Site Visitors

None.