Cloning

Move a site from one host to another with a Jetpack Backup.

Cloning is only available if you’ve added SSH, SFTP or FTP credentials to your WordPress.com dashboard. If you’re not seeing this option, be sure to check that you have working credentials entered for the site with the backups you’re using to clone.

Cloning allows you to use your Jetpack Backup to move your site to a new WordPress install on any server. This is helpful if you decide to move to a new host or if you simply want to create a copy of your site on your current server to use for testing and development.

You start the cloning process from the WordPress.com dashboard for your site:

  1. Navigate to Settings → General to open the Settings page.
  2. Scroll to the Site Tools section at the bottom and select Clone.

Cloning is a six-step process.

  1. If the information presented on the first informational page is correct, click Continue.
  2. On the next screen, enter your Destination site title and Destination site URL. Both of these fields refer to the URL and title of the site on the copy that you are creating – the site you’re cloning to, not from. Click Continue.
  3. Enter the server credentials for the new site copy. These are the credentials that Jetpack will use to clone your site from your current host to your new host. If you’re confused about what these credentials are, how they work, or why we need them, you can read more about that in our SSH, SFTP, FTP Credentials guide.

    There is a more detailed explanation of each of these fields in Adding Credentials to Jetpack

  4. Be sure to enter the Destination WordPress Path. This is the path in which your site’s files are stored relative to where the SSH, SFTP or FTP user has access. This is not required for site credentials entered for backups and restores but is necessary when cloning.
  5. Click Save to open the Clone point selector.
  6. Choose Clone current state to use the most recent backup. Or choose Clone previous state to choose an earlier backup.
    • If you choose Clone previous state, you’ll be directed to the site’s Activity where you can click Clone from here to select the backup you’d like to use.
  7. Click Yep! Begin cloning to kick-off the copy process. You’ll see a confirmation screen that allows you to return to the site’s Activity.

  8. Click To the Activity Log! to follow the progress of the clone.

When the clone is finished, you’ll see a success message in the activity log.

After copying your site, you’ll be prompted to log in again to the copied version. For that, be sure to use the WP Admin username and password you use for the site you copied from. The cloning process overwrites everything, including the WP Admin user information.

Troubleshooting

Still have questions? Feel free to contact support for more personalized assistance.

Privacy Information

This feature is deactivated by default, and unlocking/activating it requires an upgrade to a paid solution.

Data Used
Site Owners / Users

 

We currently back up the following data: WordPress database tables (any tables which begin with your WordPress table prefix and also have a unique key or a primary key). We also back up the files in your plugins, themes, and uploads directories, as well as select files from your WordPress root directory and `wp-content` directory. This includes all the unique and irreplaceable data in WordPress, as well as everything properly integrated into the WordPress installation.In addition to the data that we back up and store, we also use (and store) your server access credentials (if provided): SSH and/or FTP/SFTP. These credentials are explicitly provided by you when activating Jetpack Backups.

For feature usage tracking (detailed below): IP address, WordPress.com user ID, WordPress.com username, WordPress.com-connected site ID, user agent, referring URL, timestamp of event, browser language, country code, and user site count.

Please also refer to the Activity feature’s privacy information.

Site Visitors

 

None.

Activity Tracked
Site Owners / Users

 

We track several events around the usage of this feature: backup requests/downloads/confirmations, restore requests/confirmations/cancellations, and date-picker changes/expansions.Please also refer to the Activity feature’s privacy information.

Site Visitors

 

None.

Data Synced (Read More)
Site Owners / Users

 

None.Please also refer to the Activity feature’s privacy information.

Site Visitors

 

None.

  • Table Of Contents

  • Categories

  • Contact Us

    Need more help? Feel free to contact us.