Automatic Plugin Updates

Choose which WordPress plugins you want to keep automatically updated.

Should I keep my WordPress plugins up-to-date?

If you have a WordPress site, you probably have one or more plugins installed (hopefully Jetpack is one of them!).

Keeping plugins updated to the latest version is a best practice — developers update their plugins to fix bugs and close any security loopholes they may have discovered since the last release.

Outdated plugins can affect your site in a variety of ways:

  • Hackers can take advantage of known loopholes in outdated plugins.
  • You miss out on new features, performance improvements, and bug fixes.
  • Outdated plugins bring a higher risk of conflict with other plugins you may be using.

With Jetpack installed, it’s easy to choose which plugins (including Jetpack itself) you want to keep automatically updated without having to constantly monitor releases and manually update things each time a new version is released.

With Jetpack’s plugin management tool, you can update plugins manually, set some or all plugins to update automatically, and activate or deactivate plugins on a per-site basis or in bulk.

When working inside the WordPress.com dashboard, the yellow update icon indicates that the site has updates available. You can see all sites that need updates in the My Sites list.

Jetpack will also alert you on the site’s Activity page whenever any plugins need to be updated.

Jetpack’s WordPress automatic plugin updates interface makes keeping everything in shape a breeze: you can simply click Update all to update all plugins listed directly from the notification on the Activity page. The button menu gives you the option to manage updates individually from the Plugins page in the WordPress.com dashboard or to disable the notification.

Under each plugin listed, you’ll see two toggle options for the plugin: Active and Autoupdates.

When the Active toggle is blue, the plugin is activated. If Autoupdates is blue, Jetpack will automatically update that plugin when an update is released!

Keeping your site up to date doesn’t have to be a chore. With Jetpack’s WordPress automatic plugin updates, you can spend less time monitoring all your plugins and more time using them!

Get Started

Feature Detail

  • Turn WordPress automatic plugin updates on or off with one click.
  • Activate auto-updates on a per-site basis, or in bulk for all of your WordPress sites.
  • Install, activate, de-activate, and delete plugins in bulk across multiple sites.
  • Get notifications of new releases, successful updates, and when an update fails.

Part of Jetpack’s suite of security services for WordPress sites including brute force protection, uptime monitoring, data backups, security scanning, and more.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are the answers to some common questions. And we’re always more than happy to answer any additional questions you may have.

How much do automatic plugin updates cost?

Automatic plugin updates are provided for free to all WordPress sites running Jetpack.


How do I turn it on?

Simply install Jetpack and enable it with one click from your Jetpack dashboard. For advanced settings and troubleshooting, read our detailed support document.


Can I update multiple sites at once?

Yes! With Jetpack you can perform mass WordPress automatic plugin updates across all sites you manage that are connected to Jetpack. You’ll be able to see all plugins installed across all of your sites, as well as manually updating plugins that don’t have automatic plugin updates installed.

Get Started

Whatever sort of site you’re running, Jetpack’s features are designed to keep your site secure, build your brand, and better engage with more readers.

Don’t have Jetpack?

If you don’t currently have Jetpack, install it now so you can begin taking advantage of our features. Installation is easy and free -- you do not need a paid subscription.

Install Jetpack

Still undecided about paid plans?

Visit our plans page and explore your options if you are still not sure. Keep in mind that you are guaranteed a full refund within 30 days if you are dissatisfied for any reason.

Compare Plans