Support Home > Utilities > WordPress.com Toolbar

WordPress.com Toolbar

The WordPress.com Toolbar module replaces the default admin bar and offers quick links to the Reader, all your sites, your WordPress.com profile, and notifications.

To activate the toolbar, go to Jetpack → Settings → Writing and enable the “Enable the WordPress.com toolbar” module.

Here’s more details about each menu in the Toolbar:

  • My Site (or My Sites) will take you to the Stats page, and main menu for your primary site. From there you can create posts, pages, manage settings, and switch to the same options for your other sites, if you have more than one.
  • Reader takes you to the WordPress.com Reader where you can see the latest posts from any sites that you follow, browse topics (tags), or peruse Discover.
  • Write will start a new post in the WordPress.com editor.
  • Profile will give you a dropdown menu with all the options on the My Profile dashboard page, including Sign Out, Account Settings, Manage Purchases and Security.
  • Notifications will open a dropdown that displays your latest notifications, including recent likes and comments.

Privacy Information

This feature is deactivated by default. If you ever need to deactivate this feature, you can toggle the Enable the WordPress.com toolbar setting in the WordPress.com toolbar section from Jetpack — Settings — Writing in your dashboard.

Data Used
Site Owners / Users

This feature uses the Gravatar image URL of the logged-in user in order to display it in the toolbar, as well as the WordPress.com user ID of the logged-in user.

Additionally, for activity tracking (detailed below): IP address, WordPress.com user ID, WordPress.com username, WordPress.com-connected site ID and URL, Jetpack version, user agent, visiting URL, referring URL, timestamp of event, browser language, country code.

Site Visitors

None.

Activity Tracked
Site Owners / Users

We track when, and by which user, the feature is activated and deactivated. We also track when, and which user clicked on any of the links available within the toolbar.

Site Visitors

None.

Data Synced (Read More)
Site Owners / Users

We sync a single option that identifies whether or not the feature is activated.

Site Visitors

None.

  • Table Of Contents

  • Categories

  • Contact Us

    Need more help? Feel free to contact us.