Support Home > Backups and Restores > Restoring with the Jetpack Plugin

Restoring with the Jetpack Plugin

Looking for restore instructions for the Jetpack Backup plugin? See our article about Restoring with the Jetpack Backup Plugin.

Restore from a backup in just a few clicks.

Jetpack Backup is available to users who have purchased the Jetpack Backup solution. It is also the backup solution that is provided for any new Jetpack Security or Jetpack Complete plan purchase.

There are 3 different ways to restore your site:

  1. Restore your site to a particular event;
  2. Restore your site to a particular day;
  3. Download a backup and restore it manually.

Before You Restore

In order to restore with Jetpack Backup, you will need to have server credentials added to your Settings.

Restore Your Site to a Particular Event

  1. Go to WordPress.com.
  2. Open your Activity Log.
  3. Use the filters to search by Date Range and/or Activity Type you’d like to restore.
  1. Click Restore to open the restore site dialog box.
  1. Uncheck any boxes for items that you don’t wish to restore. If you want to restore everything, leave all of the boxes checked and click Confirm Restore.
  • The options to restore are:
    • WordPress Themes
    • WordPress Plugins
    • Media Uploads
    • WordPress Root (includes wp-config.php and any non-WordPress files)
    • WP-Content Directory (excluding themes, plugins, and updates)
    • Site Database (SQL)
  1. Your restore to the specific point in time you have selected will begin. At the top of the Activity Log, you can follow the progress of the restore. You will also receive email updates on the progress of your restore.
  1. When the restore has been completed, you’ll see a confirmation message. Click View site to see your site restored to the event that you selected.

Restore Your Site to a Particular Day

  1. Go to WordPress.com.
  2. Navigate to Jetpack → Backup. You’ll see the latest backup for your site or the scheduled time of your next backup if a backup has not yet been completed today.
  1. Use the navigation bar to find the day you want to restore to. Each day will show the time of the latest backup for that day, along with any changes included in that backup.
  1. When you find the day you want, click Restore to this point to open the restore site dialog box.
  1. Uncheck any boxes for items you don’t wish to restore. If you want to restore everything, leave all of the boxes checked and click Confirm restore.
  1. Your restore will begin, and a progress bar will appear on the page. You will also receive email updates on the progress of your restore.
  1. When the restore has been completed, you’ll see a confirmation message. Click View your website to see your site restored to the day you selected.

Download a Backup for manual restore

  1. Go to WordPress.com. 
  2. Open your Activity Log.
  3. Use the filters to search by Date Range and/or Activity Type you’d like to restore.
  1. Click Download to open the create the downloadable backup box. 
  1. Uncheck any boxes for items you don’t want to include in your download. If you want to download everything, leave all of the boxes checked and click Create download.
  1. Jetpack will begin preparing your selected download. At the top of the Activity Log, you can follow the progress of your download.
  1. A message will appear at the top of the Activity Log when your backup download is ready. Click Download to download the backup. You will also receive an email with a link to the download when it’s complete.

Once you have downloaded the backup, you can use that to restore the site manually if you wish.

FAQ

Can I perform a one-click restore even if my site is down or has a fatal error?

No, if your site is not reachable or is showing a fatal error, you need to proceed with a manual restore.

Jetpack Backup one-click restore requires a working WordPress install; in case you want to proceed with the one-click restore, you need a fresh WordPress install, reinstall and reconnect Jetpack and then run the restore.

Does restoring with Jetpack Backup delete files from my server?

No. When we restore your site, we don’t delete files. Files with the same name will be overwritten, but uniquely-named files are not removed. We only delete our helper files, which we add to the site during the restore process.

However, it is important to note that your site’s database is completely replaced with the database from the backup you’re restoring from. So, any posts or pages you’ve added since the restore point date would be lost. You should make an export of this content before using our restore feature; then, you can import it back to your site after the restore.

How long does it take to restore?

This depends on many factors, such as the size of your site and the type of server credentials you’ve added to Jetpack. Generally, SFTP and SSH credentials provide a faster connection.

You can check the restore progress by going to My Site(s) → Jetpack → Activity Log. You should also receive an email once the restore has finished.


Get help

Have questions? Feel free to contact support for more personalized assistance.

  • Table Of Contents

  • Categories

  • Contact Us

    Need more help? Feel free to contact us.