Support Home > Social > Jetpack Social: Auto-Sharing Posts

Jetpack Social: Auto-Sharing Posts

Auto-sharing, (formerly known as Publicize) is a feature of Jetpack Social. The auto-share feature allows you to share your blog posts automatically to your connected social media accounts. Jetpack Social provides 30 free shares per 30 days. For more shares and additional features you can upgrade to the Jetpack Social Basic plan or the Jetpack Complete bundle.

Auto-sharing New Posts

The auto-share feature allows you to configure your auto-sharing options before you publish a new blog post. To configure the auto-sharing options when writing a new post:

  1. In the top-right corner of the post writing screen, click the Jetpack icon.
Click the Jetpack icon to see the auto-sharing options.
  1. Under Share this post, you can toggle on and off Share when publishing. With Share when publishing turned on, you can select the social media networks you want to share to, and write a custom message to be seen on your social media networks. You can also connect to additional social media networks from this area (Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Tumblr only).
Pick your social media networks and write a custom message if you wish.
  1. If you are sending your post to Twitter, you also have the option to share a Single Tweet or Twitter Thread. Please see our Jetpack Social: Twitter page for more information about this.
You can share a single tweet or a Twitter thread.
  1. Once you have everything set as you would like, click Publish. If you have pre-publish checks enabled in your editor settings, you will see the Jetpack Social options on the pre-publish sidebar as well.

Auto-sharing Scheduled Posts

You can also auto-share scheduled blog posts! To do this, follow the steps above and then schedule your post for publishing. The post will be shared to your selected and connected social media accounts at the same time the post is published.

Auto-sharing Previously Published Posts

Note: Auto-sharing previously published posts does not currently support custom post types. Also, it is available in the Block Editor only, not the Classic Editor.

You can also auto-share previously published posts. By selecting different connected services for each auto-share, you can craft your message according to your audience, using different messages for each of your accounts as desired. This feature is free for up to 30 shares every 30 days. For additional shares you will need the Jetpack Social Basic plan or Jetpack Complete bundle.

From the Post Writing Screen

The first option for auto-sharing previously published posts is in the post writing screen in the WP Admin. To auto-share a previously published post from the WP Admin post writing screen:

  1. In the top-right corner of the post writing screen, click the Jetpack icon.
Click on the Jetpack Icon.
  1. Select the social media platform(s) you want to share to and add connections if needed.
Pick your social media networks.
  1. Write a custom message if you wish.
Write a custom message.
  1. If you are sending your post to Twitter, you also have the option to share a Single Tweet or Twitter Thread. Please see our Jetpack Social: Twitter page for more information about this.
You can share a single tweet or a Twitter thread.
  1. Click Share post.
Once you’re all set, click Share post.

From WordPress.com

You can also auto-share previously published posts from WordPress.com. To auto-share previously published posts from WordPress.com:

  1. Go to WordPress.com.
  2. In the top-left corner, click Switch site, and select the site you want to auto-share from.
  3. Go to Posts and click the three dots next to the post you want to share, then click Share.
Click the three dots on the post and then click share.
  1. Click the toggle next to the connected accounts to which you’d like to share your post. You can also add additional connections (Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Tumblr only).
Toggle on/off the social media networks you want to share to. You can also add additional connections.
  1. Once you select your social media network(s) the text box where you can write a custom message for your social media audience will become active. If you don’t want to write a custom message, you can use the default sharing message.
Write a custom message for your share (or not).
  1. Once you are happy with your message, click Preview to see how it will appear on your social media accounts. Note: The previews shown here are approximations of what they will look like, and may not reflect exactly what you’ll see on your social media accounts.
Preview your social shares before publishing.
  1. Next, you can choose to auto-share the post immediately by clicking Share post or click the calendar icon and schedule the auto-share.
Share your post right away or schedule it for a future date.

FAQ

Jetpack Social in the Classic Editor

If you’re using the Classic Editor, the Jetpack Social options will look slightly different. You’ll find them in the Publish box on your post edit screen when writing a new post. The auto-sharing of previously published posts is not available in the Classic Editor. You must use the Block Editor for this feature.

Publish Meta Box with Jetpack Social Enabled

If you want to toggle any of the Jetpack Social services for a specific post, click Edit next to the list of connected accounts. You can then uncheck the services you do not want to use for this post and add a custom sharing message.

Additional Information
  • Saving a post as a Draft will not auto-share it to your social media networks.
  • Static pages will not be auto-shared to social media networks.
  • Scheduled posts do get auto-shared – at the time they’re scheduled to publish.
  • If you use a plugin to clone or duplicate existing posts, it will also duplicate its status. If the original post is already published, Jetpack Social’s auto-share feature won’t be triggered for the cloned post.
  • Jetpack Social works for Administrator, Editor, or Author user roles. If you’re a Contributor for a blog, you cannot use Jetpack Social.
  • There is a limit of 15 connections for a single user on a single blog, and 30 shared connections on a single blog.
Images in Jetpack Social

Jetpack Social selects images for Facebook and Twitter that are at least 200 x 200 pixels in the following order:

  1. Featured image
  2. An image attached to the post and inserted
  3. Any other image in the post (not attached but perhaps linked)

Jetpack Social for Tumblr will display an image if your post is an image post format or if there is an image embedded within the first 256 characters of the post.

How to use Jetpack Social with your Custom Post Types

By default, Jetpack Social’s auto-sharing feature is only triggered when you publish a new post. You can, however, extend this to other Custom Post Types. You have 2 options to add Jetpack Social Support to a Custom Post Type:

  1. You can add Jetpack Social support to an existing post type thanks to the add_post_type_support() function. To do so, add the following code to a functionality plugin:
    add_action('init', 'my_custom_init');function my_custom_init() {
        add_post_type_support( 'product', 'publicize' );
    }
    

    You’ll need to replace “product” with your Custom Post Type name.

  2. You can add Jetpack Social support when registering the post type:
    // Register Custom Post Type
    function jetpackme_custom_post_type() {
    
    
        $labels = array(
            'name'      => _x( 'Products', 'Post Type General Name', 'text_domain' ),
        );
        $args = array(
            'label'     => __( 'product', 'text_domain' ),
            'supports'  => array( 'title', 'editor', 'publicize', 'wpcom-markdown' ),
        );
        register_post_type( 'product', $args );
    
    }
    // Hook into the 'init' action
    add_action( 'init', 'jetpackme_custom_post_type', 0 );
    
How to customize Jetpack Social

Jetpack Social also includes filters to allow you to customize the default behavior with additional plugins, or via a simple addition to your theme’s functions.php, like removing Jetpack Social options from the New Post screen.

Removing WooCommerce Products from Jetpack Social

By default, WooCommerce includes Jetpack Social support and your new products will be auto-shared to your social media accounts. You can disable this functionality by adding the following code snippet:

add_action('init', 'woo_publicize_remove');
function woo_publicize_remove() {
  remove_post_type_support( 'product', 'publicize' );
}

Still need help?

Please contact support directly. We’re happy to lend a hand and answer any other questions that you may have.

  • Table Of Contents

  • Categories

  • Contact Us

    Need more help? Feel free to contact us.