Support Home > Social > Jetpack Social

Jetpack Social

Jetpack Social makes it easy to share your site’s posts on several social media networks automatically when you publish a new post. Our Security and Complete plan users can also share content that has already been published, and schedule their posts to be shared at a specific time.

Note: Publicize is now called “auto-sharing” and is a feature of Jetpack Social.

For general information about Jetpack Social features, please see this page.

Using Jetpack Social

Jetpack Social can be enabled within Jetpack or installed as a standalone plugin.

Once Jetpack Social is active, you’ll be able to use its features like auto-sharing new posts.

These support articles go over topics that are helpful when using Jetpack Social:

Privacy Information

This feature is de-activated by default. It can be activated at any time by toggling the Automatically share your posts to social networks setting in the Jetpack Social connections section from Jetpack — Settings — Sharing in your WP-Admin.

More information about the data usage on your site
Data Used

Site Owners / Users

In order to process cross-service sharing of new blog content, the following information is utilized by the Jetpack codebase: WordPress site URL, site owner’s local user ID, WordPress.com-connected site ID, two automatically-generated WordPress.com secret access tokens (and the expiration timestamp of those tokens), and the post data that is to be shared (ID, excerpt, content, permalink, etc.). Service-specific access tokens (only for connected services) are also used.Additionally, for activity tracking (detailed below): IP address, WordPress.com user ID, WordPress.com username, WordPress.com-connected site ID and URL, Jetpack version, user agent, visiting URL, referring URL, timestamp of event, browser language, country code.

Site Visitors

None.

Activity Tracked
Site Owners / Users

We track when, and by which user, the feature is activated and deactivated. We track when, and which, configuration settings are modified (and by which user). Additionally, we track a usage event when a site owner adds a new service connection.

Site Visitors

None.

Data Synced (Read More)
Site Owners / Users

We sync options that identify whether or not the feature is activated and how its available settings are configured, including the necessary connection data for specific services.

Site Visitors

None.

 

 

  • Table Of Contents

  • Categories

  • Contact Us

    Need more help? Feel free to contact us.